Author Topic: Kombucha: Chat, Walkthroughs & Non-Technical Information  (Read 169462 times)

Offline Mama Sita

• Adept
Kombucha: Chat, Walkthroughs & Non-Technical Information
« on: June 07, 2006, 12:59:37 AM »
Hey, I'm so glad you all brought this Kombucha thing up. I've been brewing it for a couple of months now, and we love the stuff, all except for DH. He just likes his sun tea, plain and simple.

OK, here's my dilemma with brewing the Kombucha: What tea do you guys use to make the kombucha that does NOT have fluoride in it? All I have is the Lipton tea bags, and I was told to use organic black tea. Well, we live out in the boondocks and I really dislike ordering stuff online since shipping prices KILL me...soooo, we use what we have.

I don't have the book Nourishing Traditions, but I'd love to get my hands on a copy. Anybody know the best place to get one? (read: cheap)

Thanks!!  ;D
"No one stands as tall as a Christian on his knees."
Get $5 off your first iHerb.com order: Code ISA141

Offline Mama Sita

• Adept
Re: Kombucha: Chat, Walkthroughs & Non-Technical Information
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2006, 04:38:44 PM »
What's the difference between "mothers" and "babies" ???

From my experience, the 'mother' is the starter mushroom that you use to start your Kombucha, and the 'babies' are the new mushroom that grow on top of the mother after a few brews.

Actually, I gathered as much, but do they grow?  Do babies become mothers?  Or do they have to produce special "mothers" like bees grow special queens.  Probably a dumb question, but I don't know much about this stuff and haven't had time to fully research it yet.

Ok, no such thing as a dumb question on this board. Yes, babies become mothers when you separate them and send them on their happy way (with about a cup of kombucha tea) to another jar of their own.

Now, this mother will grow a baby on top and you can separate them.